pleasures

I am watching one of my favorite films right now as a sort of birthday icing treat, Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain. One of the most striking things about it for me is the little things Amélie takes pleasure in. Sticking her hands in bags of grain, skipping stones.

I am struck by my own simple pleasures. I too love sticking my hands in bags of grain, cracking the top of crème brûlée. I love the feeling of clean sheets on my skin, and the way Cusak’s breath tastes when we kiss. I love Bruce Wayne’s superman curl (right in the center of his forehead), and the sound of rain on window panes.

The simple pleasures are certainly some of the best.

2 Responses to “pleasures”

  1. I concur. Might I add a hot mug of green tea first thing in the morning? Granted, it’s not as sexy or arousing; it does get the day started!

  2. Oh, not every pleasure has to be arousing to be sensual. One of my favorites is a warm towel. There’s something about stepping out of the shower into a warm, soft snuggly towel that you can’t beat, and I’ve always thought so.

Leave a Reply

