rock-star

The ex used to be a rock star. I was his rock star girlfriend, not really a rock star in my own right, but definitely cooler because of my orbit around the little blonde sun he was. We’d go to parties, and he’d be popular, and people would get close to him to get close to me, and the whole thing would be kind of tawdry and ridiculous.

I tried being a rock star while I was dating him, but if I got too popular and out in front, it seemed like he’d feel the need to diminish me, because he was supposed to be the “name” in our relationship.

**

Last night Cusak and I went out to an event. And I realized that we’re rock stars together. He doesn’t feel the need to make me play smaller, to frame his performance with my own. He plays off me, and I play off him, and the whole thing makes the both of us a little cooler. A little more fun to be around.

We got in the three-way flirt last night, a couple of times, and I’ve also realized he’s really good at it. He can play off me in ways I’m not used to. It’s nice having a boyfriend who knows how to be a good wingman while maintaining his position as my boyfriend. This seems to speak well for my future in this relationship.

**

Drama continues elsewhere…but I think they’re just jealous of what I have.

3 Responses to “rock-star”

  1. I’m jealous. Jealous that you had the talent to be a rock-star. Jealous of your relationship with Cusak, too. Curious to know if you were known to me in your rock-star-dom days or if your ex was.

    It’s rather eerie thinking that we could have the 6 degrees of separation going on, without requiring Kevin Bacon. More details on that, if you care to IM or e-mail me.

  2. Cusak was a find. One I hope I never have to give up.

    E-mail sent, as I suspect our IM schedules aren’t compatible.

  3. I wouldn’t say that. This morning, I’ve been trying to motivate myself to do laundry and clean the bathroom…Instead, Vanilla Sky got in the way on Bravo.

Leave a Reply

